President’s Message – February 2016

Yay Broncos!! What an exciting year for the Broncos and Peyton Manning.  I am thankful that the DAORN meeting is not competing with the Super Bowl.  🙂

First – I would like to congratulate Ellen Lord who was notified that she selected for the Mentorship Award.  A well deserved honor!!

The AORN Surgical Conference and EXPO is April 2-6 in Anaheim California.  Delegates have been notified by the nominating committee so they can make plans to attend.  If you have yet to attend the AORN Surgical Conference and EXPO, this would be a great year to attend.  It is an incredible experience that revives your nursing spirit.

Please consider nominating your fellow nurses for a DAORN Outstanding Perioperative Practice Award in either Clinical, Education or Leadership, it is a great way to recognize each other for the great work we do. Click this link to download the DAORN Award Nomination Form:  Award-Nomination-form

February, although a month short on days, is long on DAORN activities. I hope to see you at one or more of the following:

DAORN meeting, Saturday February 6th at Lutheran Medical Center. Breakfast at 0815, business meeting 0830-0900, educational session, 0905-1005: Education Session is pressure ulcer prevention by Moline.  DARON Meeting Flyer 2015-2016

Interdisciplinary Collaboration for the Improvement of Patient Outcomes, Feb. 18, 0800-1530, Donor Alliance Center: 8175 E 1st Ave, Denver, CO 80230. $65, 6.0 CH’s, lunch included. Go to For more information and to register click this link:

OR Nurses at the Museum of Nature and Science, Feb. 27, 1000-1500. Contact Sharon Luhrs at for more information or to volunteer.

Last but not least…if you would like to hone your leadership skills, there are several openings. More information will be available at the chapter meeting. See you Feb. 6th.

Faith Beazer, DAORN President


President-elect 2016-2017; will serve as President 2017-2018 1
Vice President 2016-2018 1
Secretary 2016-2018 1
Board of Directors 2016-2018 2
Nominating Committee 2016-2018 3